Seaport Flotilla 10-10 (Auburn, MA)
First District Northern Region
No matter what type of boating you enjoy the same basic safety principles apply
Please join us for one of our Safe Boating Classes
classes start September 20, 2017
SAFE BOATING CLASSES
Coastal Piloting classes teach the fundamentals of navigation on the coastal ocean. This knowledge is especially useful when your electronics fail. Completion of BS&S or SS&S is a prerequisite for Coastal Piloting.
Registration for all classes is on the class start date from 6:30 to 7:00 PM.
We also offer About Boating Safely.
* Navigation tool kit & training chart included
Many boat insurers offer you a up to a 10 % discount for completing a BS&S or SS&S class.They are approved by the National Association of Boating Law Administrators and recognized by the United States Coast Guard. Certificates issed upon completion.
We reserve the right to cancel a class if fewer than five (5) people register.
We encourage all students to Pre-Register. There is no commitment when you pre-register but it helps us to determine the number of books we will need. Click here to pre-register send your name, how many people, and which course interest you.
For directions to Worcester State College click here.
SEVERE WEATHER CLOSINGS
PLEASE DO NOT CALL THE SCHOOL !!
If we have a snowstorm and Worcester State announces that they are cancelling school for the day, there will be no Safe Boating classes that night. Please listen to the radio for school closing announcements.
If you still question whether or not we will be holding class call: Jim Barbato 978-422-6760
In Massachusetts, powerboats may not be operated by children under the age of 12 years unless accompanied by a competent adult. Youth between the ages of 12 – 15 years may operate a power boat alone if they have completed the BSS class and been awarded the BSS Certificate.
PWC's (personal watercraft, i.e. jet skis) may not be operated by anyone under the age of 18, however, PWC's may be operated by youths between the ages of 16-17 if they have completed the BSS class and been awarded the BSS Certificate.
We encourage husband/wife; father / daughter (son)
teams. Although there is no age prerequisite, we suggest that your children
be at least 12 years old.
New Hampshire, Rhode Island and Connecticut require you to have taken a Safe Boating Class before you can register and/or rent a boat.
Home Privacy Statement Public Education Meetings Links For Members News Photo Gallery
Date this page was last edited: 05/09/2017